faire schokolade fairafric fabrik fair trade

Sustainability

Sustainability thought through to the end

For fairafric, fair means being just, to people and to nature.

What makes our chocolate environmentally sustainable?

Chocolate & Solar Energy

The entire roof of the factory has been covered with 578 solar panels since the beginning of 2021. On average, we generate about 16,500.25 kWh/month with the solar system.

Bye, bye plastic!

With us you will not find a gram of plastic . In search of an environmentally friendly packaging option (as opposed to plastic or aluminum foil), we chose NatureFlex foil. The film is made from wood pulp sourced from sustainable forests and is even biodegradable in your own compost.

fairafric is climate neutral

Environmental impacts cannot (yet) be avoided in the production of the chocolates. Therefore, we offset all CO2 emissions that occur. In cooperation with Natureoffice, we invest in a natural forest reforestation project in Togo. For the year 2021 we have compensated 300 tons of CO2.

Chocolate on the go

fairafric also arranges the transport of the chocolate to Europe in the most climate-friendly way possible. Namely, by ship instead of by plane, from the port city of Tema to Hamburg. The temperature of the reefer container is 16 degrees and we offset the CO2 impact with NatureOffice.

Mission: Zero Waste

The most sustainable form of packaging: None at all! All fairafric varieties are also available unwrapped in many unwrapped stores or at the TARABAO in the online store

Learn more about the production of fairafric unwrapped chocolates

faire schokolade fairafric fabrik fair trade

Sustainability

Nachhaltigkeit zu Ende gedacht

Fair bedeutet für fairafric, gerecht zu sein, zu Mensch und Natur.

Was macht unsere Schokolade ökologisch nachhaltig?

Schokolade & Solarenergie

Das komplette Dach der Fabrik ist seit Anfang 2021 mit 578 Solarpanels bedeckt. Im Durchschnitt erzeugen wir mit der Solaranlage etwa 16.500,25 kWh/Monat.

Bye, bye Plastik!

Bei uns findest Du kein Gramm Plastik . Auf der Suche nach einer umweltfreundlichen Verpackungsvariante (im Gegensatz zur Plastik- oder Alufolie) haben wir uns für NatureFlex Folie entschieden. Die Folie besteht aus Holzzellstoff, der aus nachhaltiger Forstwirtschaft stammt und ist sogar in Deinem hauseigenen Kompost biologisch abbaubar.

fairafric ist klimaneutral

Bei der Produktion der Schokoladen lassen sich Umwelteinflüsse (noch) nicht vermeiden. Deshalb gleichen wir alle CO2 Emissionen, die anfallen, aus. Wir investieren in Zusammenarbeit mit Natureoffice in ein Naturwaldaufforstungs-Projekt in Togo. Für das Jahr 2021 haben wir 300 Tonnen CO2 kompensiert.

Schokolade auf Reisen

Auch den Transport der Schokolade nach Europa gestaltet fairafric so klimaschonend wie möglich. Nämlich mit dem Schiff anstatt mit dem Flugzeug, von der Hafenstadt Tema nach Hamburg. Der Kühlcontainer ist mit 16 Grad temperiert und die CO2 Belastung gleichen wir mit NatureOffice aus.

Mission: Zero Waste

Die nachhaltigste Form von Verpackungen: Gar keine! Alle fairafric Sorten gibt es auch unverpackt in vielen Unverpackt-Läden oder bei uns im Online-Shop. Die Tafeln werden in Pfandeimern oder in beschichteten Papiertüren geliefert.

Erfahre mehr über die Produktion der unverpackten fairafric Schokoladen